Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Texas Apprentice Electrician Information
See our facebook page

Our Manta Link View David Nicholson's profile on LinkedIn

Texas Electrical Apprentice License Applications

To obtain a State of Texas Apprentice (or Sign Apprentice) electrician license.

Just apply for the license, (including the criminal history questionaire, if needed). You can apply, and pay the $20.00 fee online.
See Sec 73.27 (if you have no criminal history you can obtain a temporary 21 day license, that way you can begin work immediately). Also See 73.22(c) about falsifying information on an application!
(TDLR always checks your criminal history)

If/when TDLR approves your regular annual license, they will mail it to you.

JUST TO CLARIFY!

Texas State Electrical Apprentice (or Sign apprentice) license applications do NOT:

* You are NOT required to participate in an "apprenticship training program"!

* There are NOT education requirements for obtaining the license!

* They Do NOT require an examination.

* They Do NOT have any experience requirements.

An EMPLOYER... MIGHT require that you join an "Apprentice training program", OR have some specific education level, OR have a good driving record, OR... etc. (among many other requirements).


BUT... The Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation... DOES NOT.

"Apprentice training programs" DO have education requirements, and require many hours of classroom education, (which they charge for), BUT.. which do NOT affect (or reduce) the experience requirements to advance your Texas state electrician license to a higher level.
Simply put... They do NOT speed your career path!

Obtaining a Texas state Apprentice (or Sign) Apprentice license:

Apprentice Electricians;

You must be 16 years old or over {Texas Electrician LawsSec. 1305.161 (a)} in the case of an electrical apprentice. You must be engaged in the process of learning and assisting in the installation of electrical work under the supervision of a licensed master electrician. Applicants with any criminal offense conviction (felony or misdemeanor) must complete a criminal history questionnaire. You can read the TDLR Criminal History guidlines HERE.

Apprentice Electricians must have either 4 hours of continuing education, or apprenticeship training program hours for annual license renewal. {Texas Electrician LawsSec. 1305.168 (b1)}

We offer the required continuing education online, right now.... Right HERE

Apprentice electrician ProgramsTDLR-approved Electrical Apprentice training programs

Apprentice Sign Electrician;

You must be 18 years old or over {Texas Electrician LawsSec. 1305.161 (b)} in the case of an electrical sign apprentice. You must be engaged in the process of learning and assisting in the performance of electrical sign work under the supervision of a licensed Master Sign Electrician, or a Master Electrician. Applicants with any criminal offense conviction (felony or misdemeanor) must complete a criminal history questionnaire.

Sign apprentices renewing their licenses must have either 4 hours of continuing education or apprenticeship training program hours for annual license renewal. {Texas Electrician LawsSec. 1305.168 (b1)}

All Electrical Apprentice license applications;

You must pay the application fee of $20.00.

For the Texas Apprentice licenses ONLY!
You can apply ONLINE, OR [ like all other electrical applications] you can download and print out an application to mail in. You can obtain a "Temporary License" {Texas Electrical LawsSec. 73.27} which is good for 21 days, That way you can start work while the TDLR processes your application, and if approved, sends you your regular annual license.

You can find the TDLR electrical apprentice applications Texas Electrician FormsHERE.

License Information PageReturn to the "License info" Page

email linkE-mail us at:E-mail us The Direct Learning Resource